Overview
Open plastic map and start virtual expedition

Ocean knowledge

Plastic waste in the Ocean

What is Plastic and why is it so dangerous?

Plastic, fish and duck mussels
Photo from Bryce Groark Alamy

Plastic and its consequences

Plastic is made up of synthetic organic polymers which are formed through the connection of many smaller molecule components. These plastics are produced from fossil fuels, for example, oil and gas. Plastic is used for many products and has already replaced materials, such as paper, glass and wood in many areas. Plastic products are not only inexpensive to produce but they are also quite durable, light and at the same time very stable. But many of these characteristics now constitute a huge problem …

Plastic is made up of synthetic organic polymers which are formed through the connection of many smaller molecule components. These plastics are produced from fossil fuels, for example, oil and gas. Plastic is used for many products and has already replaced materials, such as paper, glass and wood in many areas. Plastic products are not only inexpensive to produce but they are also quite durable, light and at the same time very stable. But many of these characteristics now constitute a huge problem. Plastic does not easily biologically degrade; it accumulates in the environment and often remains there for many decades. Today, huge amounts of plastic float world-wide in our seas, from pole to pole and from the surface of the sea to the deep sea. A majority is floating on the ocean surface and is transported by currents over long distances. Although plastic practically does not decompose, larger parts are reduced to smaller parts of varying sizes by wind, salt and weather. Those smaller than 5 mm in size are called micro plastics. They can hardly be seen with the naked eye. Practically all sea animals, from the big whale to the small copepod swallow waste, which can strangulate, suffocate or starve them. The potential risk of plastic is higher when the direct effects of ingesting plastic, such as constipation and injuries to the digestive tract interact with the chemical pollution of the environment, because plastic can accumulate organic pollutants and heavy metals to a high degree and can therefore serve as a means of transport for pollutants into sea organisms. Additionally, pollutants such as plasticizers added during production can dissolve in the ocean. Many of the pollutants also have hormonal effects and can even be carcinogenic.

read more close

How much plastic is being produced and how much recycled?

Production

The first synthetic plastic “Bakelit” was created by the Belgian chemist Leo Hendrik Baekeland in 1907 and has led to major changes in daily life. A life without plastic is hardly possible anymore and it is a major challenge to find plastic-free alternatives. With the enormous growth for more than 50 years, world-wide production rose to 299 million tons in the year 2013. This corresponds to more than 40 kg per capita and year. Nearly ¼ of this was produced in China. After a sharp decline caused by the financial crisis in 2009, plastic production in Europe stabilized in the year 2013. Today’s production in Europe amounts to about 57 million tons.

Click on the info graph for more details.

Click on the info graph for more details.

How much plastic is there in the ocean already and how much gets in?

PLASTIC IS EVERYWHERE IN THE OCEANS AND THERE IS ALWAYS MORE

Plastic pollution is found in the oceans everywhere in the world. Plastic pieces are dispersed by wind and surface currents extensively throughout the world’s oceans. According to current estimations, more than 5 billion plastic pieces with a total weight of 268,000 metric tons float here and there in the world’s oceans …

Plastic pollution is found in the oceans everywhere in the world. Plastic pieces are dispersed by wind and surface currents extensively throughout the world’s oceans. According to current estimations, more than 5 billion plastic pieces with a total weight of 268,000 metric tons float here and there in the world’s oceans (233,400 tons of macro plastic, 35,540 tons of micro plastic). More than 1/3 of this mass can be found in the North Pacific, in particular, in the center of the subtropical vortex. This is what researchers, who evaluated data from 24 expeditions over 6 years, found out (Eriksen et al., 2014).

 

The vast majority of plastic floating in the oceans is in small fragments with a size smaller than 5mm, so-called micro-plastic (see graph). Most of the micro-plastic particles are fragments created through the breaking up of bigger plastic pieces. In their nets the researchers mainly found different types of equipment from fisheries which enter the sea directly, such as buoys, lines and nets. But other plastic objects such as buckets, bottles, styrofoam and plastic bags, which came from land, were also found.

 

Although reports about plastic waste in the sea appeared as early as the early 1970s, more than 40 years later there are still no exact estimations about the amount and origin of the plastic waste which enters the ocean. Now researchers at the University of Georgia have published their calculations about the masses of plastic waste which reach the ocean from land through rivers, sewage, wind and tides. They estimate that in the year 2010 about 2.5 billion tons of litter was created by 6.4 billion people (corresponds to 93% of the world’s population), living in 192 coastal states. Approximately 11%, about 275 million tons, of this was plastic waste. Roughly 99.5 million tons of this plastic waste can be attributed to the population living within 50 km from the coast. It is estimated that in 2010 4.8 to 12.7 million tons entered the oceans directly from land or from rivers. The largest share of plastic waste entering the ocean in 2010 came from China and Southeast Asia, mainly through inappropriate waste disposal. If the infrastructure of waste disposal remains the same as today, the amount of plastic litter which enters the ocean from land could reach up to 28 million tons in the year 2025. If the infrastructure of only the 20 countries with the highest waste production were to improve, the amount of waste could be reduced by 50% through recycling. For this, major investments in infrastructure for waste disposal would be necessary, in particular in developing countries.

read more close

Click on the info graph for more details.

Click on the info graph for more details.

We in Kiel: Students’ laboratory and research

In the ocean: lab of the Kiel ‘Forschungswerkstatt’, a set of laboratories at Kiel University open to school classes, the topic “waste in the ocean” is an inherent part of a research day. For example, the pollution of the oceans is studied through experiments. In this way, school students learn what plastic is, how plastic waste enters the ocean and how long it takes plastic waste to decompose in the ocean …

In the ocean: lab of the Kiel ‘Forschungswerkstatt’, a set of laboratories at Kiel University open to school classes, the topic “waste in the ocean” is an inherent part of a research day. For example, the pollution of the oceans is studied through experiments. In this way, school students learn what plastic is, how plastic waste enters the ocean and how long it takes plastic waste to decompose in the ocean. Moreover, they carry out experiments concerning the characteristics of different plastic samples and filter micro plastic from cosmetic products and sediment samples. The activities of the Kiel ‘Forschungswerkstatt’ are addressed to students from the third grade to the thirteenth. According to their level of learning, the students get fascinating insights into marine sciences and into the working methods of scientists. In addition to exploring the inhabitants of the oceans, the learning groups also explore the dangers posed to this habitat by human interference.

read more close

In addition to the programs for entire school classes, the Kiel ‘Forschungswerkstatt’ coordinates the Coastal Cleanup Day along the Kiel Fjord. This international day was initiated by the Ocean Conservancy in order to draw attention to the littering of our oceans on all continents.

In addition to the programs for entire school classes, the Kiel ‘Forschungswerkstatt’ coordinates the Coastal Cleanup Day along the Kiel Fjord. This international day was initiated by the Ocean Conservancy in order to draw attention to the littering of our oceans on all continents. On the so-called Coastal Cleanup Day in the year 2013, about 125kg waste on a 3km long section of beach in Kiel was collected, sorted, counted, weighed and reported to the world-wide database of the Ocean Conservancy by 100 volunteers, in particular school classes. In 2014 an increased stretch of 13.5 km of shoreline was liberated from waste with the help of 503 volunteers from schools and associations. With 423 kg waste, including more than 33 000 cigarette butts, the yield from 2013 was exceeded by far. The collection balance was exceeded again in the year 2015 when 554 volunteers freed 21.8 km of beach in the Kiel Bay from 658 kg of waste.

read more close

In the citizen science project “On the track of plastic waste”, schools students from Germany and Chile collect data for research together with their teachers and marine scientists and actively advocate for the prevention of waste in the world’s oceans. In the first year of the project, 450 school students from the age of ten to 15 with, in total, 20 teachers did joint research on plastic waste at beaches in Germany and Chile …

In the citizen science project “On the track of plastic waste”, schools students from Germany and Chile collect data for research together with their teachers and marine scientists and actively advocate for the prevention of waste in the world’s oceans. In the first year of the project, 450 school students from the age of ten to 15 with, in total, 20 teachers did joint research on plastic waste at beaches in Germany and Chile. Where are the biggest deposits of plastic waste to be found on the German and Chilean coasts? What items make up plastic waste in Germany and Chile? And where does the waste come from? These and further research questions were answered within an international network of school students, teachers and scientists. The students use scientific methods to collect data, take samples at the beach and enter their results on the website www.save-ocean.org. On the website the German-Chilean student groups also exchange information about their experiences and discuss possible solutions.

read more close

Research Projects at the GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel

Are there interactions between micro plastics and small marine organisms, such as unicellular algae and other organic particles such as the excretions of copepods? This question has been raised by scientists at the GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel. Dr. Jan Michels studies the topic aggregation and interaction of micro-plastic particles …

Are there interactions between micro plastics and small marine organisms, such as unicellular algae and other organic particles such as the excretions of copepods? This question has been raised by scientists at the GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel. Dr. Jan Michels studies the topic aggregation and interaction of micro-plastic particles. With the help of laboratory experiments he was able to prove that micro-plastic particles connect to natural particles and that this makes it easier for other particles to also attach to their surface. The results contribute to an understanding of the impacts of micro plastics in the water column. Another research project studied, whether and how fast bacteria decompose plastic bags in the sediment of the sea floor. The result of Alice Nauendorf and her colleagues: Neither classic commercial standard bags, made of polyethylene, nor, so-called compostable plastic bags changed at all after one hundred days on the seafloor. They found neither a reduction in weight nor any chemical changes. Therefore, no decomposition had taken place. However, they were able to clearly see that the compostable bags were populated by bacteria. In addition, scientists in Dr. Matthias Haeckel’s group at GEOMAR have developed a method to calculate micro-plastic parts in sediments. Because of their very small size, it is not an easy task, since micro-plastic particles are barely visible with the naked eye and can very easily be confused with sand grains. Plastic parts are first separated and afterwards a specific microscopy method is used to determine the different types of plastic. This information is particularly important in identifying important sources of micro plastic.

read more close

GAME is an international training and research program in marine ecology which connects applied research and the education of young scientists. Every year, identical experiments, beyond geographical and climatic borders, are carried out in very different locations in the world at the same time.

GAME is an international training and research program in marine ecology which connects applied research and the education of young scientists. Every year, identical experiments, beyond geographical and climatic borders, are carried out in very different locations in the world at the same time. The 11th GAME project in 2013 was the first of in a total of three GAME projects looking at the influence of micro plastics on invertebrate marine organisms. For this purpose, sediment feeders, such as the lugworm, were stored in sediment enriched with micro plastics for two months. Through this, the research team carried out important pioneering work and collected valuable data for follow-up projects. In the following year, the same research institutes came together for a follow-up study. The experimental setup changed slightly compared to the previous year, since in 2014 the teams worked with PVC and not polystyrene, as in 2013. Moreover, the animals were exposed to different particle densities for the first time, in order to test just how much micro plastic pollution would produce negative impacts during the experimental period. In 2016 GAME participants will once again deal with the problems of micro plastics. This time, they will test, whether the influence of micro plastics on invertebrate marine organisms changes if another environmental stressor, in this case heat stress, is added. Thus they will study the potential interactions between two factors of global change.

read more close

Mareike Huhn, doctoral candidate and former participant of the GAME program at the GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel has founded the support association Marine Conservation South East Asia e.V. (MC-SEA) together with a team of marine biologists, diving teachers and project managers with many years of experience with Asia …

Mareike Huhn, doctoral candidate and former participant of the GAME program at the GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel has founded the support association Marine Conservation South East Asia e.V. (MC-SEA) together with a team of marine biologists, diving teachers and project managers with many years of experience with Asia. The organization advocates for a sustainable coexistence of humans and the sea in Southeast Asia with the aim of preserving the ecological balance in the region and protecting the biodiversity of the region under water and on the coasts. MC-SEA therefore educates the coastal population in Southeastern countries on how to use natural resources sustainably and dispose of waste products in an environmentally sustainable way. Since 2013, the main focus of attention has been on the establishment of a functioning waste disposal system on the Indonesian Banda islands in the Indo-pacific, one of our earth’s last paradises. For this purpose, MC-SEA is providing the in total seven villages on the main island Banda Naira with waste collection for two months. This will be done by volunteers with trolleys and motorcycle pickups who drive from door to door twice a week and collect the accumulated waste in empty rice bags. After two months the villages are expected to continue and finance the system themselves. Apart from this, since February 2014, weekly waste collection activities have been taking place at different beaches on the island of Naira. These serve primarily an educational purpose. Most people are not aware of the negative impacts of waste on the environment because of insufficient education. Each week a new school class participates in the activities. The preparation of the participating children is one of the most important aspects of these days of action. However, in the long-term a solution for recycling must be developed directly on Banda since removal of the waste is too expensive due to its secluded location. Since the piles of garbage are growing world-wide, there is an urgent need for a sustainable and universally applicable solution for the disposal of waste in the long-term, because in many countries waste is still being burned in the front gardens or disposed of in the environment.

read more close

Übersicht
Plastik-Karte öffnen und Entdeckungsreise starten

Ozeanwissen

Plastik-Müll im Ozean

Was ist Plastik und warum ist es so gefährlich?

Plastik, Fische und Entenmuscheln
Foto von Bryce Groark Alamy

Plastik und seine Folgen

Plastik sind synthetische organische Polymere, die durch die Verknüpfung von vielen kleineren Molekülbausteinen gebildet werden. Vorwiegend werden diese Kunststoffe aus fossilen Brennstoffen, beispielsweise Erdöl und Gas, hergestellt. Plastik wird für eine Vielzahl an Produkten verwendet und hat Materialien wie Papier, Glas und Holz in vielen Bereichen bereits verdrängt. Kunststoffprodukte haben nicht nur niedrige Produktionskosten, sie sind darüber hinaus besonders langlebig, leicht und gleichzeitig ausgesprochen stabil. Aber viele dieser Eigenschaften stellen nun ein großes Problem dar …

Plastik sind synthetische organische Polymere, die durch die Verknüpfung von vielen kleineren Molekülbausteinen gebildet werden. Vorwiegend werden diese Kunststoffe aus fossilen Brennstoffen, beispielsweise Erdöl und Gas, hergestellt. Plastik wird für eine Vielzahl an Produkten verwendet und hat Materialien wie Papier, Glas und Holz in vielen Bereichen bereits verdrängt. Kunststoffprodukte haben nicht nur niedrige Produktionskosten, sie sind darüber hinaus besonders langlebig, leicht und gleichzeitig ausgesprochen stabil. Aber viele dieser Eigenschaften stellen nun ein großes Problem dar. Plastik ist nur schwer biologisch abbaubar, sammelt sich in der Umwelt an und bleibt oft viele Jahrzehnte erhalten. Heute treiben Unmengen Plastikteile in unseren Meeren weltweit von Pol zu Pol und von der Meeresoberfläche bis zur Tiefsee. Ein Großteil treibt auf der Meeresoberfläche und wird mit den Strömungen über lange Strecken transportiert. Obwohl Plastik praktisch nicht zersetzt wird, verwittern und zerfallen größere Stücke in unterschiedlich kleinere. Die so entstandenen Teilchen werden ab einer bestimmten Größe, kleiner als 5 mm, als Mikroplastik bezeichnet. Sie sind mit dem bloßen Auge schwer zu erkennen. Praktisch alle Meerestiere, vom großen Wal bis zum kleinen Ruderfußkrebs, verschlucken Müllteile, können sich an ihnen strangulieren, daran ersticken oder durch sie verhungern. Das Gefahrenpotential des Plastiks wird noch erhöht, wenn die direkten Effekte, wie durch die Aufnahme von Plastik mit der Nahrung einhergehenden möglichen Verstopfungen und Verletzungen des Verdauungstrakts, mit der chemischen Belastung der Umwelt zusammenwirken, denn Kunststoff kann in hohem Maße organische Schadstoffe und Schwermetalle anreichern und ist somit ein Transportmittel für Schadstoffe in die Meeresorganismen. Zusätzlich können sich bei der Produktion hinzugefügte Schadstoffe wie Weichmacher lösen. Viele der Schadstoffe sind auch hormonell wirksam oder können sogar krebserregend sein.

mehr lesen schließen

Wie viel Plastik wird hergestellt und wie viel wird recycelt?

Produktion

Der erste synthetische Kunststoff “Bakelit“ wurde im Jahre 1907 von dem belgischen Chemiker Leo Hendrik Baekeland entwickelt und hat das tägliche Leben weitreichend verändert. Ein Leben ohne Plastik ist kaum mehr möglich und es ist eine große Herausforderung plastikfreie Alternativen zu finden. Mit enormen Wachstum seit mehr als 50 Jahren ist die weltweite Produktion im Jahr 2013 auf 299 Millionen Tonnen angestiegen. Dies entspricht mehr als 40 kg pro Kopf und Jahr. Davon wurden fast ¼ in China hergestellt. In Europa stabilisierte sich die Kunststoffproduktion im Jahr 2013 nach dem Einbruch durch die Finanzkrise in 2009. Die heutige Produktion in Europa beträgt rund 57 Millionen Tonnen.

Für mehr Details auf die Infografik klicken/drücken.

Für mehr Details auf die Infografik klicken/drücken.

Wie viel Plastik gibt es in den Ozeanen und wie viel gelangt hinein?

Plastik ist in den Ozeanen allgegenwärtig und es gibt reichlich Nachschub

Plastikverschmutzung ist in den Ozeanen weltweit allgegenwärtig. Plastikteile werden durch die Wind- und Oberflächenströmungen in den Weltmeeren großflächig verteilt. Nach aktuellen Schätzungen treiben mehr als 5 Billionen Kunststoffteile mit einem Gewicht von über 268000 Tonnen in den Weltmeeren hin und her …

Plastikverschmutzung ist in den Ozeanen weltweit allgegenwärtig. Plastikteile werden durch die Wind- und Oberflächenströmungen in den Weltmeeren großflächig verteilt. Nach aktuellen Schätzungen treiben mehr als 5 Billionen Kunststoffteile mit einem Gewicht von über 268000 Tonnen in den Weltmeeren hin und her (233400 t Makroplastik, 35540 t Mikroplastik). Mehr als 1/3 der Masse befindet sich davon im Nordpazifik, v.a. im Zentrum des subtropischen Wirbels. Zu diesem Ergebnis kommen Forschende nach der Auswertung von Daten aus 24 Expeditionen über sechs Jahre (Eriksen et al., 2014).

Die überwiegende Anzahl der in den Ozeanen treibenden Kunststoffe sind kleine Fragmente mit einer Größe von weniger als 5mm, sogenanntes Mikroplastik (siehe Grafik). Die meisten Mikroplastikpartikel sind Fragmente, die durch das Zerbrechen von größeren Plastikteilen entstanden sind. In den Netzen der Forscher wurden hauptsächlich unterschiedliche Ausrüstungsgegenständen aus der Fischerei, die direkt in das Meer gelangen wie Bojen, Leine und Netze gefunden. Aber auch andere Plastikgegenstände wie Eimer, Flaschen, Styropor und Plastiktüten, die vom Festland aus ins Meer gelangen, wurden gefunden.

Obwohl Berichte von Plastikmüll im Meer bereits in den frühen 1970er Jahren auftauchten, gibt es mehr als 40 Jahre später noch keine genauen Schätzungen über Menge und Herkunft des in den Ozean gelangenden Plastikmülls. Nun haben Wissenschaftler der University of Georgia erstmals ihre Berechnungen über die Massen an Kunststoffabfällen, die von Land über Flüsse, Abwässer, durch Wind und Gezeiten in die Ozean gelangen, veröffentlicht. Sie schätzten, dass im Jahr 2010 rund 2,5 Milliarden Tonnen Abfälle von 6,4 (entspricht 93% der Weltbevölkerung) Milliarden Menschen, die in 192 Küstenländern leben, erzeugt wurden. Ungefähr 11%, rund 275 Millionen Tonnen, waren davon auf Plastikmüll. Davon entfielen schätzungsweise 99,5 Millionen Tonnen auf den Bevölkerungsteil, der bis zu 50 km von der Küste entfernt lebt. Geschätzte 4,8 bis 12,7 Millionen Tonnen Plastik sind 2010 schließlich direkt von Land oder über Flüsse in die Ozeane gelangt. Der größte Anteil an Plastikmüll, der in den Ozean gelangen kann, kam 2010 aus China und Südostasien hauptsächlich durch unsachgemäße Entsorgung. Bleibt die Infrastruktur der Müllentsorgung wie heute kann die Menge an Kunststoffabfällen, die von Land in den Ozean gelangen kann, bis auf 28 Millionen Tonnen im Jahr 2025 ansteigen. Verbessert sich die Infrastruktur allein der 20 Länder mit der höchsten Abfallproduktion, kann die Müllmenge durch Recycling um 50 Prozent reduziert werden. Dafür wären erhebliche Investitionen in der Infrastruktur für die Müllentsorgung vor allem in Entwicklungsländern nötig.

mehr lesen schließen

Für mehr Details auf die Infografik klicken/drücken.

Für mehr Details auf die Infografik klicken/drücken.

Wir in Kiel: Schülerlabor und Forschung

Im ozean:labor der Kieler Forschungswerkstatt ist das Thema „Müll im Meer“ ein fester Bestandteil eines Forschungstages. Beispielsweise wird die Verschmutzung der Ozeane anhand von kleinen Experimenten untersucht. Dabei erfahren Schülerinnen und Schüler was Plastik ist, wie der Plastikmüll ins Meer gelangt und wie lange der Plastikmüll im Meer bleibt bis er abgebaut wird …

Im ozean:labor der Kieler Forschungswerkstatt ist das Thema „Müll im Meer“ ein fester Bestandteil eines Forschungstages. Beispielsweise wird die Verschmutzung der Ozeane anhand von kleinen Experimenten untersucht. Dabei erfahren Schülerinnen und Schüler was Plastik ist, wie der Plastikmüll ins Meer gelangt und wie lange der Plastikmüll im Meer bleibt bis er abgebaut wird. Zudem führen sie Versuche zu Eigenschaften von unterschiedlichen Kunststoffproben durch und sie filtern Mikroplastik aus Kosmetikprodukten und Sedimentproben raus. Die Angebote der Kieler Forschungswerkstatt richten sich an Schülerinnen und Schüler von der dritten bis zur dreizehnten Jahrgangsstufe. Entsprechend der jeweiligen Lernniveaus erhalten die Schülerinnen und Schüler in der Forschungswerkstatt faszinierende Einblicke in die Meereswissenschaften und in die Arbeitsmethoden von Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern. Neben den Bewohner der Ozeane erkunden die Lerngruppen auch die Gefahren für diesen Lebensraum durch das Eingreifen des Menschen.

mehr lesen schließen

Zusätzlich zu den Programmen für ganze Schulklassen koordiniert die Kieler Forschungswerkstatt jährlich den Coastal Cleanup Day entlang der Kieler Förde. Der internationale Tag wurde von der Organisation Ocean Conservancy ins Leben gerufen, um auf die Vermüllung der Meere auf allen Kontinenten aufmerksam zu machen.

Zusätzlich zu den Programmen für ganze Schulklassen koordiniert die Kieler Forschungswerkstatt jährlich den Coastal Cleanup Day entlang der Kieler Förde. Der internationale Tag wurde von der Organisation Ocean Conservancy ins Leben gerufen, um auf die Vermüllung der Meere auf allen Kontinenten aufmerksam zu machen. Am so genannten Küstenreinigungstag wurden im Jahr 2013 dabei rund 125 kg Müll an einem 3 km langen Kieler Strandabschnitt mit 100 Freiwilligen, v.a. Schulklassen, gesammelt, anschließend sortiert, gezählt, gewogen und an die weltweite Datenbank der Ocean Conservancy gemeldet. 2014 wurden dann bereits 13,5 km Strandlinie gemeinsam mit 503 Freiwilligen aus Schulen und Vereinen vom Müll befreit. Mit 423 kg Müll, darunter mehr als 33 000 Zigarettenkippen, wurde die Ausbeute bei weitem übertroffen. Die Sammelbilanz konnte im Jahr 2015 dann erneut übertroffen werden. Mit Hilfe von 554 Freiwilligen konnten 21,8 km Strand in der Kieler Bucht von 658 kg Müll befreit werden.

mehr lesen schließen

In dem Bürgerprojekt „Dem Plastikmüll auf der Spur“ können Schülerinnen und Schüler aus Deutschland und Chile gemeinsam mit ihren Lehrkräften und Meereswissenschaftlern Daten für die Forschung erheben und sich aktiv für die Vermeidung von Müll in den Weltmeeren einsetzen. Im ersten Projektjahr haben 450 Schülerinnen und Schüler im Alter von zehn bis 15 Jahren mit insgesamt 20 Lehrkräften in Deutschland und Chile gemeinsam rund um das Thema Plastikmüll an Stränden geforscht …

In dem Bürgerprojekt „Dem Plastikmüll auf der Spur“ können Schülerinnen und Schüler aus Deutschland und Chile gemeinsam mit ihren Lehrkräften und Meereswissenschaftlern Daten für die Forschung erheben und sich aktiv für die Vermeidung von Müll in den Weltmeeren einsetzen. Im ersten Projektjahr haben 450 Schülerinnen und Schüler im Alter von zehn bis 15 Jahren mit insgesamt 20 Lehrkräften in Deutschland und Chile gemeinsam rund um das Thema Plastikmüll an Stränden geforscht. Wo an deutschen und chilenischen Küsten befinden sich die größten Plastikmüllvorkommen? Aus welchen Gegenständen besteht der Plastikmüll in Deutschland und Chile? Woher kommt dieser Müll? Diese und weitere Forschungsfragen wurden in einem internationalen Netzwerk zwischen Schülerinnen und Schülern, Lehrkräften und Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern beantwortet. Dabei wenden Schülerinnen und Schüler wissenschaftliche Methoden zur Datenerhebung an, nehmen Proben am Strand und geben ihre Ergebnisse auf der Webseite www.save-ocean.org ein. Über die Webseite tauschen sich die deutsch-chilenischen Schülergruppen gleichzeitig über ihre Erfahrungen aus und diskutieren mögliche Lösungsansätze

mehr lesen schließen

Forschungsprojekte am GEOMAR Helmholtz-Zentrum für Ozeanforschung Kiel

Gibt es Wechselwirkungen zwischen Mikroplastik und kleinen Meeresorganismen wie einzelligen Algen und anderen organischen Partikeln wie Ausscheidungen von Ruderfußkrebsen? Diese Frage haben sich Wissenschaftler am GEOMAR Helmholtz-Zentrum für Ozeanforschung Kiel gestellt. Zum Thema Aggregation und Interaktion von Mikroplastikpartikel forscht Dr. Jan Michels …

Gibt es Wechselwirkungen zwischen Mikroplastik und kleinen Meeresorganismen wie einzelligen Algen und anderen organischen Partikeln wie Ausscheidungen von Ruderfußkrebsen? Diese Frage haben sich Wissenschaftler am GEOMAR Helmholtz-Zentrum für Ozeanforschung Kiel gestellt. Zum Thema Aggregation und Interaktion von Mikroplastikpartikel forscht Dr. Jan Michels. Mit Hilfe von Laborexperimenten konnte er nachweisen, dass Mikroplastik-Partikel sich mit natürlichen Partikeln verbinden und dass sich dadurch auch andere Partikel an deren Oberfläche leichter anheften können. Die Ergebnisse tragen dazu bei, die Auswirkungen von Mikroplastik in der Wassersäule zu verstehen. Ein weiteres Forschungsprojekt am GEOMAR hat untersucht, ob und wie schnell Bakterien Plastiktüten im Sediment des Meeresbodens abbauen. Das Ergebnis von Alice Nauendorf und ihren Kollegen: Weder klassische handelsübliche Tüten aus Polyethylen noch sogenannte kompostierbare Kunststofftüten hatten sich nach hundert Tagen im Meeresboden überhaupt verändert. Es gab weder eine Gewichtsabnahme noch chemische Veränderungen. Demnach hat also kein Abbau stattgefunden. Dennoch konnten sie deutlich sehen, dass die kompostierbaren Tüten stärker mit Bakterien besiedelt waren. Zudem hat eine Gruppe von Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern um Dr. Matthias Haeckel am GEOMAR eine Methode entwickelt um Mikroplastik-Teilchen in Sedimenten zählen zu können. Aufgrund der sehr geringen Größe ist dies keine leichte Aufgabe, da Mikroplastik-Partikel mit dem Auge kaum sichtbar und sehr leicht verwechselbar mit Sandkörnern sind. Die Plastikteilchen werden zunächst vom Sediment getrennt und anschließend wird eine spezielle Mikroskopie-Methode verwendet um die verschiedenen Arten von Plastik bestimmen zu können. Diese Information ist besonders wichtig um wichtige Quellen von Mikroplastik identifizieren zu können.

mehr lesen schließen

GAME ist ein internationales Trainings- und Forschungsprogramm in der Meeresökologie, das angewandte Forschung mit der Ausbildung von Nachwuchswissenschaftlern verbindet. Jedes Jahr werden zu einer Fragestellung zeitgleich identische Experimente - über geografische und klimatische Grenzen hinweg - an verschiedenen Orten auf der ganzen Welt durchgeführt.

GAME ist ein internationales Trainings- und Forschungsprogramm in der Meeresökologie, das angewandte Forschung mit der Ausbildung von Nachwuchswissenschaftlern verbindet. Jedes Jahr werden zu einer Fragestellung zeitgleich identische Experimente - über geografische und klimatische Grenzen hinweg - an verschiedenen Orten auf der ganzen Welt durchgeführt. Das 11. GAME-Projekt im Jahr 2013 war das erste von insgesamt drei Projekten im Rahmen des Programms, das sich der Untersuchung des Einflusses von Mikroplastik auf wirbellose Meeresorganismen widmete. Hierfür wurden Sedimentfresser, wie der Wattwurm, für 2 Monate in mit Mikroplastik angereichertem Sediment gehältert. Dabei haben die Forscherteams wichtige Pionierarbeit geleistet und wertvolle Daten für nachfolgende Projekte gesammelt. Im darauf folgenden Jahr haben sich dieselben Forschungsinstitute erneut für eine Folgestudie zusammengefunden. Der Versuchsaufbau hatte sich im Vergleich zum Vorjahr ein wenig geändert, denn in 2014 arbeiteten die Teams nun mit PVC als Modellplastikmaterial und nicht mehr, wie in 2013, mit Polystyrol. Zudem wurden die Tiere erstmalig verschiedenen Partikeldichten ausgesetzt, um zu testen ab welcher Mikroplastikbelastung sich im gegebenen Versuchszeitraum negative Auswirkungen feststellen lassen. In 2016 werden sich die GAME-Teilnehmer wieder mit der Mikroplastikproblematik beschäftigen. Dieses Mal werden sie testen, ob sich der Einfluss von Mikroplastik auf wirbellose Meeresorganismen verändert, wenn ein zweiter Umweltstress, in diesem Fall Hitzestress, hinzukommt. Es geht also darum, die möglichen Wechselwirkungen zwischen zwei Faktoren des globalen Wandels zu untersuchen.

mehr lesen schließen

Mareike Huhn, Doktorandin und ehemalige Teilnehmerin des GAME-Programms am GEOMAR Helmholtz-Zentrum für Ozeanforschung Kiel, hat zusammen mit einem Team aus Meeresbiologen, Tauchlehrern und Projektmanagern mit langjähriger Asienerfahrung den Förderverein Marine Conservation South East Asia e.V. (MC-SEA) gegründet …

Mareike Huhn, Doktorandin und ehemalige Teilnehmerin des GAME-Programms am GEOMAR Helmholz-Zentrum für Ozeanforschung Kiel, hat zusammen mit einem Team aus Meeresbiologen, Tauchlehrern und Projektmanagern mit langjähriger Asienerfahrung den Förderverein Marine Conservation South East Asia e.V. (MC-SEA) gegründet. Die Organisation setzt sich für ein nachhaltiges Zusammenleben von Mensch und Meer in Südostasien ein, mit dem Ziel, das ökologische Gleichgewicht in der Region zu bewahren und den Artenreichtum der Region unter Wasser und an den Küsten zu schützen. Hierfür bildet MC-SEA die Küstenbevölkerung südostasiatischer Länder darin aus natürliche Ressourcen nachhaltig zu nutzen und Abfallprodukte umweltschonend zu entsorgen. Seit 2013 liegt das Hauptaugenmerk auf der Etablierung eines funktionierenden Abfall-Entsorgungssystems auf den indonesischen Banda-Inseln im Indopazifik, eines der letzten Paradise unserer Erde. Hierfür stellt MC-SEA nach und nach den insgesamt sieben Dörfern auf der Hauptinsel Banda Naira für jeweils zwei Monate eine Müllabfuhr zur Verfügung. Diese besteht aus freiwilligen Helfern mit Handwagen und Motorrad-Pickups, die zweimal in der Woche von Haus zu Haus fahren und den in leeren Reissäcken gesammelten Abfall abholen. Nach zwei Monaten wird von den Dörfern erwartet, dass sie das System selbstständig fortsetzen und finanzieren. Seit Februar 2014 finden außerdem wöchentliche Müllsammelaktionen an verschiedenen Stränden der Insel Naira statt. Diese dienen in erster Linie der Aufklärungsarbeit. Die negativen Auswirkungen von Abfall auf die Umwelt sind den meisten Menschen aufgrund unzureichender Bildung nicht bewusst. Jede Woche nimmt eine neue Schulklasse an den Aktionen teil. Die Vorbereitung der teilnehmenden Kinder ist einer der wichtigsten Aspekte dieser Aktionstage. Langfristig muss jedoch eine Lösung für Recycling direkt auf Banda entstehen, da der Abtransport des Mülls aufgrund der abgeschiedenen Lage zu kostspielig ist. Aufgrund der wachsenden Müllberge weltweit ist eine nachhaltige und weltweitgreifende Lösung für die Entsorgung des Abfalls auf lange Sicht dringend notwendig, da in vielen Ländern der Müll immer noch in den Vorgärten verbrannt oder in der Umwelt entsorgt wird.

mehr lesen schließen